DUI/DWI charges can have serious consequences in every state and New Jersey is no exception. Simply refusing to take a breathalyzer test can cost you your license and a steep fine, even if you are ultimately acquitted of the DUI. DUI laws are complex, and you have a limited amount of time to take action to protect yourself from a conviction that can cost you more than fines and jail time. You should not simply sit back and let the legal system roll over you. An experienced DUI attorney can help minimize the impact of DUI on your life, and in many cases can get your charges dismissed.
DUI Consequences, Penalties and Beyond
For your first DUI in New Jersey, you could face up to 30 days in jail and up to $400 in fines. But the costs don’t stop there. For three years, you’ll be forced to pay an extra $1,000 per year on your car insurance. You may also be required to have an ignition interlock device on your vehicle, at your expense. And you may be required to alcohol classes, also at your expense. Your license will be suspended for three months, so you’ll have to find alternative transportation to work or school.
Of course, a first DUI sets you up for a second DUI, which carries harsher penalties. Learn more about the basics of New Jersey DUI law by viewing this slideshow.
The Breath Test Dilemma
Refusing to take a breath test won’t help you. You can be convicted of DUI without it. But, even if you are cleared on the DUI, you’ll be punished simply for refusing to take the test. This includes seven to 12 months of license suspension and a fine of $300 to $500.
Learn more about New Jersey DUI and your legal rights by talking to an experienced New Jersey DUI attorney right away.